Skip to content

giving to those in need by giving up.

December 16, 2009

Twitter friend and fellow cheese lover, Kelly Cline (aka @Kcline) of the food blog (and showcase for some of her amazing food photograph’s) Nommy Nom asked her followers to undertake a challenge during the holiday’s to give up one luxury item for how – ever long they can and give away the saved cash to a local food bank or other charity that feeds the hungry.

Sounds like a great idea to… as well as one I can truly accomplish.  So for Kelly’s “Feel Good by Giving” Giveaway I have decided to give up two things that I take for granted.

Cheese – As a vegetarian, I find that most items in my diet revolve around some type of cheese.  While it is delicious and provides me with some of the protein that I need, it also hurts my stomach and I feel much better when I go without it for a few days.  My challenge is to go without cheese until Christmas.  With holiday parties and randomness, it will be a real challenge to see if I can make it the week and a half.

Subtracting cheese from my diet doesn’t really save me money so I decided that in order to save money, I would stop parking in the paid parking spots downtown.  For the next week, I vow to park at the Macy’s parking lot and walk my lazy butt the quarter mile to my office which should save at least $30 dollars from now until the end of the year.  After the first of the month I will take that $30 and donate it to the Redwood Empire Food Bank, our local food bank.

You can track my progress here, but for more information contact Kelly.

Feel Good by Giving – Giveaway Rules

Giveaway – what do you get:
One winner to receive (1) $50 Amazon Gift Certificate

How to be Involved:
Go without a luxury for a day, week or month & use the money to Feed the Hungry. No amount is too small!

How to Enter:
Write a blog post about your donation, post your link in the comments section of this post.***

How Winner is Picked: Random Number Generator

Entry Deadline: December 20th Midnight PST

Winner Announced: December 24th

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 1:29 am

    Oh wow… and knowing how much you love cheese this is a serious sacrifice for you 🙂 There will be alot of fed tummies that will be happy form this! Great job, I love what you are doing and extending it beyond just the holidays. You ROCK!

Leave a Reply

