Skip to content

my first morning in seattle.

November 24, 2009
tags:

This morning I woke up to silence. With the starlings waking me up every morning at 7am, it was nice to be able to finally sleep in.

I turned on my laptop, got dressed, played with Basil the kitty and started boiling water in a teapot

I went outside to see what the weather was like because, while I knew I was in Seattle, I just wanted to feel how cold it was. The door was unlocked so I didn’t think twice that it was one of those locked from the outside doors.  I closed it not wanting to let kitty outside and when I went to try the doorknob, I realized I was LOCKED out.  I tried getting in through every window and the front door.  Nothing.  The tea kettle was on (Such a MOVIE plot) and so I panicked a bit.

I ran next door and thankfully they were home.  Borrowing their phone and explaining my situation, I called the number that was the website for Melody’s work and it took me to a customer service voice mail.  I tried 0.  Invalid number.  I tried to remember where Kris worked… Nothing came to mind.

Since the teapot was on, I knew I just needed to get back into the house before I burned down Melody & Kris’ new purchase, so I called Seattle’s non-emergency police/fire number and they told me to call 911.

So, for the first time in my life, I called 911.

All I could think about was how appropriate it was for me to visit one of my oldest friends who just bought a house less than a month ago and either burn it down, or at the very least, have her door broken down so the house doesn’t burn down.

After I got off the phone with the dispatcher and told them my situation, I tried again all doors and windows once again.  The same door I was locked out of, opened after I PUSHED on it and it opened fairly easy.

I got back in the house, turned off the teapot and called 911 to say “never mind.”

So, how has your morning been?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 8:53 pm

    Shana, this story truly *is* funny by accident! For your sake (and your friends’), I’m sure glad you poured plenty of water in that teapot! With luck, Melody and Kris will invite you to stay in their house again sometime. 🙂

    For tomorrow, I wish you a morning more like mine today: very routine!

  2. Melody permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:08 pm

    You are lucky I like you so much! Not even one month in our new house and 911 was called. Ohhhh what the neighbors must think. 🙂

  3. November 27, 2009 8:30 pm

    Were you in Seattle for Thanksgiving? I’ve always wanted to go there.

Leave a Reply

