Skip to content

giving up cheese?

January 2, 2010

Yeah….  Remember that one post that I said I would be giving up on the luxury of cheese and paying for parking in Downtown Santa Rosa?  Here it is if you didn’t get a chance to read it.  Well, I made it a whopping two days without cheese and almost three weeks (and counting) without paying for parking.  At least I will have $30 to give to the Redwood Empire Food Bank up here in Santa Rosa, but I also learned my lesson – Do not give up cheese TWO DAYS before the holiday party at The Cheese Shop in Healdsburg or four days before a lasagna party hosted by Serena and Alan of Cellar Rat.  In fact, while I am at it….  How about the lesson that I shouldn’t try to give up cheese in general….

Seriously…. Look at this amazing gadget that Doralice Handal, owner of The Cheese Shop brought in just for the event.  It slowly melted the wheel and she smeared the delicious goo on some bread and served with some spicy popcorn and sparkling wine. How could I turn this down?!!?!?!

Thanks Kelly Cline for the great idea of giving back… I am happy that was able to at least stick to giving up one of my luxuries and provide some money to a worthy cause.   If I ever try to give up cheese again, please remind me of this post!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. thegreatflight permalink
    January 2, 2010 10:35 pm

    I’d rather give up chocolate than cheese – and I LOVE my chocolate. lol Kudos for giving to a worthy a cause, though! :)

    • January 2, 2010 11:10 pm

      I agree with you there…. I have always said dessert is not dessert without chocolate… But, cheese is a staple in my vegetarian diet and I love it. It may hurt my stomach from time to time, but well worth it!

  2. January 2, 2010 11:36 pm

    I had no idea we were such a bad influence.
    Can’t really say I’m sorry for helping to keep you on the cheese wagon, though. Doralice needs our biz :-)

    • January 3, 2010 12:21 am

      The lasagna was DELICIOUS…. But I think it was more Serena than you who is the bad influence. :) Any business I can give The Cheese Shop the better!

  3. Serena permalink
    January 3, 2010 12:52 am

    Ah, it is a pleasure to be a bad influence when it comes to cheese :-) I am wishing I had some Oregon Crater Lake blue cheese to go with my glass of Riesling. If only the Cheese Shop were open right now …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

